3x3U Tournament

Friday-Sunday this weekend, a really neat three-on-three tournament event will be taking place in San Antonio.  The event will consist of 32 teams of four players each (three players and one substitute) with each team representing one of the 32 D1 conferences.  The game will be played in a half-court only, with each regular basket worth one point and each basket from beyond the arc worth 2.  The first team to 21 point, or the leader after 10 minutes, wins.

The event will begin with pool play consisting of 8 pools of 4 teams each (guaranteeing at least 3 games per team).  The 8 winners will advance to a bracketed quarterfinal round, followed by semifinals and a Best-of-3 championship round.  All games are being streamed on Twitter (Friday starting at 7 PM Eastern, Saturday at 11AM Eastern, Sunday at 2PM Eastern)), with the semifinals and finals on Sunday also being on ESPN2.  Given that the teams are all seniors who have exhausted their eligibility, they can and will win money — $1,000 to be split by the team for each team win through the semifinals and $50,000 for the champions.  For more info, check out this link:  https://www.3x3uhoops.com/

The teams are below.  The Pac-12 is not fielding a team:

Big 12
Donovan Jackson, Iowa State
Manu Lecomte, Baylor
Kendall Smith, Oklahoma State
Zach Smith, Texas Tech

Big Sky
Ryan Richardson, Weber State
Jamal Aytes, Southern Utah
Geno Luzcando, Idaho State

David Cohn, William & Mary
Joe Chealey, College of Charleston
Rokas Gustys, Hofstra
Mike Morsell, Towson

A.J. Mosby, Alcorn State
Donte Clark, Texas Southern
Paris Collins, Jackson State
Jared Sam, Southern


Quentin Snyder, Louisville
Gabe DeVoe, Clemson
Tadric Jackson, Georgia Tech

Marcus Barham, Florida A&M
Desmond Williams, Florida A&M
Artem Tavakalyan, Delaware State
Brandon Tabb, Bethune-Cookman

Sun Belt
Jaylen Shaw, Coastal Carolina
DeMario Beck, Coastal Carolina
Sam McDaniel, Louisiana-Monroe
Wesley Person, Troy

Brandon Randolph, Utah Valley
Jordan Hill, Seattle
Keonta Vernon, Grand Canyon
Joshua Braun, Grand Canyon


Atlantic Sun
Brandon Goodwin, Florida Gulf Coast
Divine Myles, Stetson
Nick Masterson, Kennesaw State
Ramel Thompkins, South Carolina Upstate

Big East
J.P. Macura, Xavier
Rodney Bullock, Providence
Andrew Rowsey, Marquette
Desi Rodriguez, Seton Hall

Big West
Chance Murray, UC-Riverside
Victor Joseph, Cal Poly
Leland King II, UC-Santa Barbara
Gabe Vincent, UC-Santa Barbara

Wes Clark, Buffalo
Mike Laster, Ohio University
Kevin Zabo, Kent State
Cecil Williams, Central Michigan


Metro Atlantic
Zane Waterman, Manhattan
Rich Williams, Manhattan
Tyler Nelson, Fairfied
Jermaine Crumpton, Canisius

Joel Hernandez, LIU-Broolyn
Junior Robinson, Mount St. Mary’s
Chris Wray, Mount St. Mary’s
JoJo Cooper, Wagner

Yante Maten, Georgia
Juwan Porter, Georgia
Kassius Robertson, Missouri
Frank Booker, South Carolina

Summit League
Nick Fuller, South Dakota
Reed Tellinghuisen, South Dakota State
Daniel Amigo, Denver
Bryson Scott, Fort Wayne


Big Ten
Nate Mason, Minnesota
Jae’Sean Tate, Ohio State
Robert Johnson, Indiana
Vincent Edwards, Purdue

Conference USA
Giddy Potts, Middle Tennessee
Ronald Delph, Florida Atlantic
Gerdarious Troutman, Florida Atlantic

Stephon Jelks, Mercer
Ria’n Holland, Mercer
Marvin Smith, UNC-Greensboro
Alex Thompson, Samford

Jordan Capps, Southeastern Louisiana
Travin Thibodeaux, New Orleans
Shawn Johnson, Incarnate Word
Joseph Kilgore, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi


Atlantic Ten
Davell Roby, Saint Louis
Jonathan Williams, VCU
Rene Castro-Caneddy, Duquesne
Matt Mobley, St. Bonaventure

Ivy League
Miles Wright, Dartmouth
Amir Bell, Princeton
Caleb Wood, Penn
Darnell Foreman, Penn

Patriot League
Stephen Brown, Bucknell
Zach Thomas, Bucknell
Jordan Swopshire, Colgate
Kharon Ross, Lehigh


Shaquille Morris, Wichita State
Connor Frankamp, Wichita State
BJ Tyson, East Carolina
AJ David, Central Florida

Horizon League
Jalen Hayes, Oakland
Grant Benzinger, Wright State
Lavine Holland II, Northern Kentucky

Ohio Valley
Avery Ugba, Austin Peay
Terrell Miller Jr., Murray State
Amanze Egekeze, Belmont
Austin Luke, Belmont

West Coast
D’Marques Tyson, Portland
Henry Caruso, Santa Clara
Cullen Neal, St. Mary’s
Calvin Hermanson, St. Mary’s


America East
Trae Bell-Haynes, Vermont
Peyton Henson, Vermont
Jahad Thomas, UMass-Lowell
Tanner Leissner, New Hampshire

Big South
Reggie Dillard, Presbyterian
Liam O’Reilly, Gardner-Webb
Ahmad Thomas, UNC-Asheville
Kevin Vannatta, UNC-Asheville

Missouri Valley
Donte Thomas, Bradley
Tevonn Walker, Valparaiso
Brenton Scott, Indiana State
Bennett Koch, Northern Iowa

Mountain West
Trevor Lyons, Air Force
Jacob Van, Air Force
Che Bob, Colorado State
Jahmel Taylor, Fresno State

This entry was posted in News and Notes. Bookmark the permalink.