NCAA Tournament Survival Board

Welcome to the 2018-2019 HOOPS HD NCAA Tournament Survival Board.  This is the list of teams that mathematically have a chance to make their conference tournaments, and therefore have a chance to make the NCAA tournament and thus (in theory) win the national championship.  It will be updated regularly as teams get eliminated.  The main reasons for eliminations are failing to qualify or losing in a conference tournament without a resume worthy of at-large bid consideration.

For this season, we welcome the North Alabama Lions (Atlantic Sun) and last year’s Team of the People Cal Baptist Lancers (WAC) to the ranks of Division I basketball. This is their first of 4 seasons in which they are transitioning up to full D-I membership, and as such are only eligible for the CBI and CIT this year.

Over the next two years, three more teams will begin their own transitional process – Merrimack will join the Northeast Conference for 2019-2020 while UC-San Diego joins the Big West and Dixie State joins the WAC in 2020-21.

Here are 4 other teams changing conferences in 2018-19: (also note that Fort Wayne/IPFW will now be rebranded as Purdue-Fort Wayne beginning this season)

  • Hampton moves from the MEAC to the Big South
  • USC-Upstate moves from the Atlantic Sun to the Big South
  • Liberty moves from the Big South to the Atlantic Sun
  • North Dakota moves from the Big Sky to the Summit League

The only other ineligible teams are Alabama A&M and Florida A&M due to APR bans.

LATEST UPDATE: February 14, 2019 11:45 PM Eastern

Most recent changes: Florida A&M removed following an NCAA decision in late January that they are ineligible for postseason play due to APR.


Bids Locked/Clinched to date: 7 out of 68


CHAMPION (BOLD AND ALL CAPS):  This team has clinched its conference’s automatic bid.

Locks (Bold): This team, despite not winning an automatic bid yet, is considered a lock for at least an at-large bid.  This means that even if the teams loses every game left on its schedule, it will still make the field.

Under Consideration (Italics): This team, despite not winning an automatic bid yet, is at least under consideration (on the bubble) for an at-large bid.  This means that if the team wins every game remaining on its schedule until the conference tournament final, it may get consideration for an at-large bid.

Lose and You’re Screwed (normal text): This team can only make the tournament via an automatic bid.


ACC – 15 (Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Louisville, Miami FL, NC State, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Pittsburgh, Syracuse, Virginia, Virginia Tech, Wake Forest)

AMERICA EAST – 9 (Albany, Binghamton, Hartford, Maine, New Hampshire, Stony Brook, UMass Lowell, UMBC, Vermont)

AMERICAN ATHLETIC – 12 (Cincinnati, Connecticut, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, SMU, South Florida, Temple, Tulane, Tulsa, UCF, Wichita State)

ATLANTIC SUN –8 (Florida Gulf Coast, Jacksonville, Kennesaw State, Liberty, Lipscomb, NJIT, North Florida, Stetson)

ATLANTIC TEN – 14 (Davidson, Dayton, Duquesne, Fordham, George Mason, George Washington, La Salle, UMass, Rhode Island, Richmond, Saint Joseph’s, Saint Louis, Saint Bonaventure, VCU)

BIG TWELVE – 10 (Baylor, Iowa State, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, TCU, Texas, Texas Tech , West Virginia)

BIG EAST – 10 (Butler, Creighton, DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, Providence, Seton Hall, Saint John’s, Villanova, Xavier)

BIG SKY – 11 (Eastern Washington, Idaho, Idaho State, Montana, Montana State, Northern Arizona, Northern Colorado, Portland State, Sacramento State, Southern Utah, Weber State)

BIG SOUTH – 11 (Campbell, Charleston Southern, Gardner Webb, Hampton, High Point, Longwood, Presbyterian, Radford, UNC Asheville, USC Upstate, Winthrop)

BIG TEN – 14 (Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Ohio State, Penn State, Purdue, Rutgers, Wisconsin)

BIG WEST – 9 (Cal Poly, Cal State Fullerton, Cal State Northridge, Hawaii, Long Beach State, UC Davis, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara)

COLONIAL – 10 (Charleston, Delaware, Drexel, Elon, Hofstra, James Madison, Northeastern, Towson, UNC Wilmington, William & Mary)

CONFERENCE USA – 14 (Charlotte, FIU, Florida Atlantic, Louisiana Tech, Marshall, Middle Tennessee, North Texas, Old Dominion, Rice, Southern Miss, UAB, UTEP, UTSA, Western Kentucky)

HORIZON LEAGUE – 10 (Cleveland State, Detroit, Green Bay, IUPUI, Milwaukee, Northern Kentucky, Oakland, UIC, Wright StateYoungstown State)

IVY LEAGUE – 8 (Brown, Columbia, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Penn, Princeton, Yale)

MEAC – 11 (Bethune Cookman, Coppin State, Delaware State, Howard, Maryland Eastern Shore, Morgan State, Norfolk State, North Carolina A&T, NC Central, Savannah State, South Carolina State)

METRO ATLANTIC – 11 (Canisius, Fairfield, Iona, Manhattan, Marist, Monmouth, Niagara, Quinnipiac, Rider, Saint Peter’s, Siena)

MID-AMERICAN – 12 (Akron, Ball State, Bowling Green, Buffalo, Central Michigan, Eastern Michigan, Kent State, Miami (Ohio), Northern Illinois, Ohio, Toledo, Western Michigan)

MISSOURI VALLEY – 10 (Bradley, Drake, Evansville, Illinois State, Indiana State, Loyola Chicago, Missouri State, Northern Iowa, Southern Illinois, Valparaiso)

MOUNTAIN WEST – 11 (Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, Fresno State, Nevada, New Mexico, San Diego State, San Jose State, UNLV, Utah State, Wyoming)

NORTHEAST – 10 (Bryant, Central Connecticut, LIU Brooklyn, Fairleigh Dickinson, Mount Saint Mary’s, Robert Morris, Sacred Heart, Saint Francis Brooklyn, Saint Francis U, Wagner)

OHIO VALLEY – 12 (Austin Peay, Belmont, Eastern Illinois, Eastern Kentucky, Jacksonville State, Morehead State, Murray State, Southeast Missouri, SIU Edwardsville, Tennessee State, Tennessee Tech, UT Martin)

PAC TWELVE – 12 (Arizona, Arizona State, California, Colorado, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA, USC, Utah, Washington, Washington State)

PATRIOT LEAGUE – 10 (American, Army, Boston U, Bucknell, Colgate, Holy Cross, Lafayette, Lehigh, Loyola MD, Navy)

SEC – 14 (Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, LSU, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, Missouri, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas A&M, Vanderbilt)

SOUTHERN – 10 (Chattanooga, The Citadel, East Tennessee State, Furman, Mercer, UNC Greensboro, Samford, VMI, Western Carolina, Wofford)

SOUTHLAND – 13 (Abilene Christian, Central Arkansas, Houston Baptist, Incarnate Word, Lamar, McNeese State, New Orleans, Nicholls, Northwestern State,Sam Houston State, Southeast Louisiana, Stephen F Austin, TAMU Corpus Christi)

SUMMIT LEAGUE – 9 (Denver, Purdue-Fort WayneNorth Dakota, North Dakota State, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State, Western Illinois)

SUN BELT – 12 (Appalachian State, Arkansas State, Coastal Carolina,Georgia Southern, Georgia State, Little Rock, Louisiana, South Alabama, Texas State, Troy, UL Monroe, UT Arlington)

SWAC – 9 (Alabama State, Alcorn State, Arkansas Pine Bluff, Grambling, Jackson State, Mississippi Valley State, Prairie View A&M, Southern, Texas Southern)

WAC – 8 (Cal State Bakersfield, Chicago State, Grand Canyon, New Mexico State, Seattle, UMKC, Utah Valley, UTRGV)

WEST COAST – 10 (BYU, Gonzaga, LMU, Pacific, Pepperdine, Portland, Saint Mary’s, San Diego, San Francisco, Santa Clara)


One Response to NCAA Tournament Survival Board

  1. Pingback: Highlighted Games for Saturday, Feb 21 | Hoops HD

Comments are closed.